Whole Foods Market announces new location in Kennesaw, Ga.

By LEO IACONO

Whole Foods Markets announced that they are to open up a brand new store in the Kennesaw, Ga., area on the corner of Cobb Parkway and Barrett Parkway. The store plans to open sometime in 2016, making this the eighth store to open in the metro Atlanta area.

A South region executive for Whole Foods made the announcement on February 13, 2014. The plan to open a new store in Kennesaw, Ga., comes as relief to most people. Jeremy Horn, an avid Whole Foods shopper, was more than excited to hear the news.

“I think this is really great. It’s good for the community and allows a shorter commute for me and my family,” he said. “I’m surprised they didn’t make the move sooner.”

Horn has been an avid shopper of Whole Foods, primarily Harry’s Farmers Market, for the better part of eight years.

“Ever since I got my learners permit, I’d always want to drive to Harry’s,” said Horn. “I literally drove my mom crazy asking her to let me drive there all the time! You could say I’m addicted to eating healthy, but I’m just smart. Now I’ll have the store just a little down the road and won’t even have to drive there.”

Whole Foods became the first national certified organic retailer under the USDA standard for organic food in 2003.

With this move, Whole Foods plans on seeing a large increase in revenue come in from the heavily populated area. One of the grocery associates at the Harry’s thinks the store will be a “gold mine.”

“Opening a store in Kennesaw is such a smart decision,” said the grocery associate. “You have the store right where Cobb [Parkway] meets Barrett [Parkway]. That intersection is always crowded with normal traffic and you have the traffic coming off the highway, too. I really hope they have me working there when it opens.”

Martin Coley has been working at Harry’s for two years now. He claims he knows a thing or two about good business.

“You see, I know everything about money. Good money, bad money, you name it,” Coley said. “Having the store move there is money. We’ll even be taking money from the Publix right down the road. Nothing’s wrong with a little, healthy competition!”

A mobile home community is currently in the lot where the Whole Foods will be placed. Jane Austin, one of the residents, doesn’t seem very concerned.

“With the new store coming, this just means I will have to find a new place to live,” Austin said. “I’ll probably just move in with my boyfriend or maybe even my mom. Now for the other folks living here, that’s a different story. I’m going to pray for all these people and hope their lives can get situated.”

Austin has been situated in the Castle Lake Mobile Home Park for two years now. After the new store is built, she actually plans on shopping there.

[hr]

[fbshare type=”button” float=”left”][google_plusone size=”medium” annotation=”bubble” language=”English (US)” float=”left”][twitter style=”horizontal” float=”left”] [linkedin_share style=”right” float=”left”]

Leave a Reply

