Local student overcomes dentist phobia after bad childhood experience

By PAIGE MORINI

Jesse Salamanca is a 26-year-old student at Kennesaw State University who developed a fear of the dentist when he was a child because of one bad experience.

“It was the first dental visit that I can remember, I was probably about five or six years old,” Salamanca said, “The dentist was really tall and just looked scary to me because of the white coat and glass he had on with the small magnifiers on them. I don’t know why it just scared me.”

Salamanca sat in the chair for a routine dental visit, when they found a minor cavity. The dentist decided that they could easily take care of it there. Salamanca was young and didn’t think anything of it at the time.

“The dentist went to give me a shot of Novocaine and I flinched at the last second before he was going to give me the shot,” Salamanca said, “He accidently stuck me on the inside of my cheek and had to redo the shot. It was horrible.”

Salamanca said that he didn’t overcome his fear until almost 15 years later. He explained that as he grew older and continually had to go to the dentist every six months, he would work his self into an anxious frenzy over what always turned out to be a normal routine visit. He realized that there was nothing to fear, and hasn’t had any anxiety about the dentist since he came to this realization.

Leave a Reply

