Kennesaw State running back to enter the 2016 NFL Draft

By JOSEPH PIEPER

KENNESAW, Ga. – Kennesaw State running back Ryan Godhigh will enter the 2016 NFL Draft.

Godhigh played his senior season for the Owls this past fall after being accepted as a walk-on by Coach Brian Bohannon. Godhigh is the younger brother of the former Georgia Tech standout running back, Robert Godhigh. Robert Godhigh played one season in the Canadian Football League for the Montreal Alouettes, after graduating from Georgia Tech in 2014.

“Ryan’s skill set is similar to mine but he does have more height than me so that makes him pretty versatile to contribute at RB, slot, and special teams,” said Robert Godhigh. “I’d say his biggest thing would just be to refine little things in route running and catching to solidify that as another weapon in the arsenal. Running the ball, he’s got, and special teams is just executing what they want you to do.”

godhigh.png
Ryan Godhigh (photo by Joseph Pieper)

Godhigh has a height advantage over his older brother, standing at 5 feet 9 inches, while his brother is 5 feet 7 inches. Ryan Godhigh is open to playing special teams or slot receiver and is also open to playing in other professional football leagues if not the NFL.

“I would love to play special teams,” said Godhigh. “I really want to do like CFL or I want go overseas, like Germany. That would be fun.”

Ryan Godhigh broke his shoulder his senior year at Harrison, and was not able to finish the season. This past season was his first season back on the field in over four years.

“Ryan’s definitely had to deal with a lot of adversity, where most other guys would’ve quit or just focused on school, and he responded to it as well as anyone could have imagined,” said Robert Godhigh. “He set his sight on what he wanted to achieve and didn’t shy away from any challenges that came associated with it.”

Neither Ryan Godhigh’s shoulder injury or short break from football has been a hindrance for him. He gained a lot of strength, weight and speed before entering his senior season.

“I just felt like a different athlete versus being in high school,” he said. “I felt stronger, I felt faster. I felt like the strength coordinators here really got me ready to play. So it felt good to get back out there.”

Ryan Godhigh finished the season for KSU with 27 rushing yards on 8 carries and 2 receptions for 10 yards. During his senior season at Harrison, Godhigh played in just four games but rushed for 410 yards on 42 carries and had 15 receptions for 116 yards. He was also named kick and punt returner of the week twice, and honored as running back of the week at Harrison.

Godhigh has been training hard for his upcoming CFL tryouts and NFL Regional Combine in New Orleans.

“For the NFL Draft I have signed up with my strength coordinator and I do strength with him like strength workouts and speed,” said Godhigh. “And my agent signed me up with Blaze fitness and I do speed work with them like later throughout the day. So I’ll do a strength workout in the morning and than later in the day I will do a speed workout, and that’s about four to five days a week.”

His pro day is set for March and Godhigh is hoping to impress some scouts there.

“I’m not even concerned [about anything]. I’m just ready to go,” he said. “I’m just ready to go perform honestly.”

One thought on “Kennesaw State running back to enter the 2016 NFL Draft

Leave a Reply

